PART 4 – CISA Domain3 – Information Systems Acquisition and Development, and Implementation
What are the different testing classifications?Unit Testing
Integration/interface testing
Final acceptance testing – QAT & UAT

What are the other types? Alpha and beta testing
Functional testing
Pilot testing
Regression testing
White box testing
Parallel testing
Black box testing
Sociability testing

What are the different changeover techniques? Parallel changeover
Changeover in phases
Rapid changeover

1. Test classifications
Unit testing: The testing of a single program or module.
Unit testing is a series of test cases that focuses on the control structure and procedural design.
These tests verify that the program’s internal operation is consistent with specification.

Interface or integration testingThe tests used to verify and validate the operation of the application under examination with other systems. This is where data is transferred from one system into another.
A hardware or software test that examines the connection between two or more components that transmit information from one area to the other.
The goal is to take unit-tested components and create an integrated structure that conforms to design.

System testing: The testing of the entire software application to verify that it is compliant with user requirements.
It is a testing method that allows users to see the software from their perspective.

Final acceptance testing: After the system staff has passed all system tests, the modified or new system is ready to go for acceptance testing. This is done during the implementation phase.
Two major parts of final acceptance testing are:
Quality assurance testing (QAT).QAT focuses primarily on the technology used and the specifications.
QAT is performed primarily in the IT department.
Participation by the end user is minimal, and available upon request.
QAT doesn’t focus on functionality testing.

User acceptance testing (UAT), should be done in a secure environment or staging area
After acceptance testing is completed, the final step usually involves a certification or accreditation process

Here are some points to keep in mind:
Failing to pass this stage of testing would have the most severe impact on the implementation and use of new software. Acceptance testing

2. Other types of testing
Alpha and beta testing: An alpha version is an early version (or software product) of the application system that has been submitted to internal users for testing.
Alpha testing, also known as the first stage of software development, is often done only by users within an organization.
Beta testing, which is a form user acceptance testing, is the second stage. It generally involves a small number of external users.

Pilot testing: A preliminary test that focuses only on certain and predetermined aspects of a System
Early pilot testing is proof of concept.

White box testing:Software testing method in which the internal structure/design/implementation of the item being tested is known to the tester

Black box testing:Software testing method in which the internal structure/ design/implementation of the item being tested is NOT KNOWN to the tester.
A method of integrity-based testing that tests components of an information system’s “functionality” operating effectiveness, without regard to any internal program structure.

Functional testing: This ensures that the product meets the client’s requirements
Regression testing: This is the process of running a section of a test scenario again to make sure that no new errors have been introduced.
Parallel testing: This involves putting test data into two systems, the modified system and an alternate system (possibly still the original system), and then comparing the results
Sociability testing:This test is used to verify that the system is capable of operating in the environment it is intended.